Home » Uncategorized » REblog: Secret Sauce? by Joe Thorn

REblog: Secret Sauce? by Joe Thorn

On Wednesday mornings I meet with Pastor Jamie Page, founding and Lead Pastor of The Church in DeKalb. We meet to share what is going on in our lives, what God is teaching us, and to pray together. It’s always a good and fruitful time. This morning I busted out my iPad and asked Jamie to let me record him explaining something they talk about at TCD. It’s their “secret sauce.” The secret sauce is sort of a hermeneutical recipe for fruitful Bible reading. He encourages the church to not just read the Scripture, but to come to it with these specific questions.

Jamie was kind enough to let me record him summarizing the whole thing off the cuff, and he didn’t even ask for makeup. (video not included in this REblog) Below is the recipe itself for TCD’s secret sauce.

When reading your Bible, you must ask these questions:

1. What does this passage say about God?

2. What does this passage say about people?

3. Therefore, what should I do?

4. Let’s be honest: How do I fail to do what I ought to do?

5. How has Christ done this thing perfectly?

6. How is Christ’s death sufficient and satisfactory for my sin of not doing what I ought to do (Romans 8.1)? And how is Christ’s resurrection empowering me to be transformed and live as I ought (Romans 8.11)?

7. Because the Gospel is true, therefore, what am I going to do?

Leave a Reply

