Home » Uncategorized » The Hands & Feet Of Jesus Cleaning Bathrooms

The Hands & Feet Of Jesus Cleaning Bathrooms

080824unknown2

This morning I want to encourage the folks of Ardent Church by telling you that you have been and are being to me the hands and feet of Jesus. One poignant moment keeps returning to my memory lately so I thought i’d share it this morning.

It was January of this year and I had just moved into my apartment. Heather, my fiancé was there with me as we cleaned in preparation to bring everything in. We were slightly overwhelmed but started scrubbing. I don’t know about Heather but I know I was selfishly avoiding the bathroom. We had only been a part of the church for a few months at that point but someone from Ardent called us up and asked if we needed anything or any help with the new place. We told her we could certainly use the help but that she shouldn’t feel obligated. When she arrived, she immediately asked what we were in need of and before we could direct her anywhere else she started in on the bathroom. This reminded me of something…

“13 Now before the Feast of the Passover, when Jesus knew that his hour had cometo depart out of this world to the Father, having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end. During supper, when the devil had already put it into the heart of Judas Iscariot, Simon’s son, to betray him, Jesus, knowing that the Father had given all things into his hands, and that he had come from God and was going back to God, rose from supper. He laid aside his outer garments, and taking a towel, tied it around his waist. Then he poured water into a basin and began to wash the disciples’ feet and to wipe them with the towel that was wrapped around him. He came to Simon Peter, who said to him, “Lord, do you wash my feet?”Jesus answered him, “What I am doing you do not understand now, but afterward you will understand.” Peter said to him, “You shall never wash my feet.” Jesus answered him, “If I do not wash you, you have no share with me.” Simon Peter said to him, “Lord, not my feet only but also my hands and my head!” 10 Jesus said to him, “The one who has bathed does not need to wash, except for his feet,[a] but is completely clean. And you[b] are clean, but not every one of you.”

Much like Jesus, this church member was in a sense washing our feet. She was serving us selflessly. Through this act, Jesus was washing Heather and I through this community of believers, drawing us into them and in turn into himself. I praise God for people like this who are willing to be the hands and feet of Jesus. Ardent Church, press into Christ and continue to be his hands and feet to each other and to the community around us.

May God bless the work of his church, the body of Christ.

Disclaimer: the above picture is not actually my bathroom… just fyi

Leave a Reply

